
The Frunze Culture and Recreation Park
The Park, named after Mikhail Frunze, the Red Army military commander, in 1926 and located on the bank of the Vitba River and the Dunaisky Stream, was created in the 19th century. Its former name is the Arhkiereisky Garden.
The 15-hectare territory of the Park has a rich diversity of trees and shrubs. These are mainly birches, willows, maples, poplars, and acacias. Small wooden bridges cross the river and the stream. At the entrance to the Park from the Svobody (Freedom) Square there’s a fountain. In the centre of the Park there’s a Concert Hall “Vitebsk” connected with Lenin Street by a pedestrian bridge named after 1000-year anniversary of Vitebsk.
…The large square in front of the Concert Hall “Vitebsk” is always in a bustle during the festival days. It is the site of the exhibition-fair of national crafts and trades “The Vitebsk Vernissage”, the International Festival of Blacksmith and Pottery Arts and the master class “Clay, Fire and Masters”. There was a unique open-air cinema once. A transportable film projection unit with 10m by 4.5m screen and about 1500 chairs were placed in front of the Concert Hall. The feature film “Indian Summer” by the Czech film makers was presented to the audience thanks to the Cadik Brothers cinematograph.
The Concert Hall “Vitebsk” is a venue of the rock marathon featuring popular Belarusian rock groups.



